Search Loading suggestions...

Alison Croggon

Veronique Baxter

Born in 1962, Alison Croggon writes in many genres, including fiction, poetry, criticism and theatre.  She has been described by The Australian Book Review as “one of the most powerful lyric poets writing today”.

Her first book of poems, This is the Stone, won the 1991 Anne Elder and Dame Mary Gilmore Prizes. Her novel Navigatio, published by Black Pepper Press, was highly commended in the 1995 Australian/Vogel literary awards.

Alison Croggon is also the author of the acclaimed young adult fantasy quartet, The Books of Pellinor. The first volume, The Gift, was nominated in two categories in the Aurealis Awards for Excellence in Australian Speculative Fiction in December 2002 and named one of the Notable Books of 2003 by the Children’s Book Council of Australia. The US edition, The Naming, was judged a Top Ten Teen Read of 2005 by the editors of

Her latest novel, The Bone Queen, is the highly captivating prequel to the Pellinor series.

The Bone Queen

Selected titles