Search Loading suggestions...

C. H. B. Kitchin

Georgia Glover
Film, TV and Stage Agent:
Georgie Smith

Born in 1895, Clifford Henry Benn Kitchin read classics at Oxford University and, after serving in France during the First World War, became a barrister in 1924.

Probably best known for his four mystery novels featuring the sleuth Malcolm Warren (Death of My Aunt, Crime at Christmas, Death of His Uncle and The Cornish Fox), he was also the author of a number of other highly-regarded novels, including The Auction Sale, Streamers Waving and Mr Balcony.

He died in 1967.


Author photograph by Lady Ottoline Morrell


Crime at Christmas