Search Loading suggestions...

Eleanor Farjeon

Georgia Glover
Film, TV and Stage Agent:
Georgie Smith
Translation Rights Contact:
Ellie Gratton

Eleanor Farjeon wrote and edited over eighty books for children and adults, including hundreds of poems many of which remain popular in anthologies today. ‘Morning Has Broken’ and ‘Cats’ are particular favourites. She also collaborated with her youngest brother, Herbert, on theatre musicals. She received the Carnegie Medal in 1955 for her collection of stories, The Little Bookroom, and her body of work was honoured in 1956 by the international Hans Christian Andersen Medal and in 1959 by the US Catholic Library Association’s Regina Medal. The Children’s Book Circle give their annual award for outstanding services to children’s literature in her name.