Search Loading suggestions...

Jan Mark

Caroline Walsh
Film, TV and Stage Agent:
Georgie Smith
Translation Rights Contact:
Ellie Gratton

Jan Mark was an astute writer of fiction for all ages. She won the Carnegie Medal twice, for Thunder And Lightnings and Handles; the Angel Literary Award for Feet And Other Stories and Zeno Was Here, and the Rank/Observer Prize for Aquarius. Thunder And Lightnings also won the Penguin Guardian Award for a first children’s book.

Jan died suddenly at the beginning of 2006 shortly after the publication of Voyager, a sequel to Riding Tycho. Published posthumously was The Museum Book (Walker), an exploration of the history and meaning of museums of all kinds. Thirty of her most beloved stories are now available in the collection The One That Got Away (Roffo Court Press, 2020).

Thunder and Lightnings

Selected titles