Search Loading suggestions...

Simon Mason

Anthony Goff
Film, TV and Stage Agent:
Clare Israel
Translation Rights Contact:
Sophia Hadjipateras

Simon Mason was born in Sheffield in 1962. He was educated at local schools and studied English at Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford. He is the author of three novels of black comedy for adults, The Great English Nude, which won a Betty Trask Award in 1990, Death of a Fantasist and Lives of the Dog-Stranglers. The Quigleys, his first book for children, was published in 2002. Hilarious and heart-warming, it marked the start of a series featuring the eccentric Quigley family and was Highly Commended in the Branford Boase Award 2003.

His novels for children and young adults include Moon Pie, which was shortlisted for the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize, and Running Girl, Kid Got Shot, and Hey, Sherlock! part of the Garvie Smith Mystery series.

Most recently, The DI Wilkins Mysteries series, featuring the unorthodox detective Ryan Wilkins, began with A Killing in November in 2022, followed by The Broken Afternoon (2023) and Lost and Never Found (2024).

Lost and Never Found

Selected titles