Search Loading suggestions...

Laura Mucha and Michael Morpurgo are on the The Ruth Rendell 2024 shortlist

We’re delighted to see Laura Mucha and Michael Morpurgo on the The Ruth Rendell 2024 shortlist.

The Ruth Rendell Award was launched by ALCS and The National Literacy Trust and recognises an writer or author who has had the most significant influence on literacy in the UK over the past year. Previous winners include Andy McNab and Cressida Cowell, and the winner will be announced at a reception at Goldsmiths’ Centre in London on 22 February 2024.

On Laura Mucha’s work, the judges said: ‘Laura’s sensitivity is extraordinary and she is deeply committed to what she is doing. Thinking about the vulnerability of young people’s mental health at the moment, her work is so important.’

On Michael Morpurgo, judges said: ‘Michael is a fantastic ambassador for literacy. He is so passionate about libraries and he really puts the work in with trying to enact change.’