Search Loading suggestions...

The Society of Authors awards feature four David Higham authors

We’re excited to announce that four David Higham authors have selected for the The Society of Authors (SoA) awards 2024. This years celebrated selection includes prose, poetry and children’s literature and includes titles from Edward Hogan, Stephen Buoro, Santanu Bhattacharya, and Jacqueline Crooks.

Edward Hogan’s short story, ‘Little Green Man’ has been shortlisted for the ALCS Tom-Gallon Trust Award. On this year’s shortlist, Judge Peter Hobbs said: ‘We’re all immensely proud of the range and quality of our shortlist. It was a long and hard-fought process working our way down to these five outstanding examples of the form, which showcase the ways the short story can distil and contain whole lives and worlds.’

Presented for a first novel by a writer under 35, this year’s Betty Trask Prize shortlist features Stephen Buoro for The Five Sorrowful Mysteries of Andy Africa. On the shortlist, judge Anjali Joseph commented: ‘All of the shortlisted novels delighted us with their freshness and each had a voice that was distinctively and recognisably its own.’

Santanu Bhattacharya‘s One Small Voice has been shortlisted for The Gordon Bowker Volcano Prize. Judged by Aamer Hussein, Yara Rodrigues Fowler and Kerry Young, this award is given to a UK or Irish writer, or a writer currently resident in those countries, for a novel focusing on the experience of travel away from home. Kerry Young said of the book: “Santanu Bhattacharya’s India-set One Small Voice triumphs the resilience of the human spirit from beginning to end.”

Judged by Anietie Isong, Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott, Rebecca Foster, Gonzalo C. Garcia and Rónán Hession, the McKitterick Prize’s shortlist features Fire Rush by Jacqueline Crooks. Speaking on the shortlist, Rónán Hession said: ‘It is exciting to judge a prize and encounter such a depth of talent. Though hugely varied in subject matter and style, the writers on the shortlist all impressed me with the clarity of their creative vision and their narrative authority on the page.’

Read more about all the SOA shortlists here.